active labor contractions

For example, if you’re getting a contraction every 10 to 12 minutes for over an hour, you may be in preterm labor. You may feel each contraction wrap around your body. On average, active labor lasts about 4 to 8 hours for first-time moms, so you'll probably be less than halfway through it by the time you see your caregiver. Thankfully, it's also the least intense by far. **You might wonder why I am an expert in this area (as you should) — it just so happens I’ve been a labor nurse since 2001 — so after helping over a thousand pregnant women — I think “expert” fits! Your contractions may even overlap as your body prepares to push. 23), Monitoring your baby during labor (ep. They may be spaced around 20 minutes apart and become progressively closer together, but not necessarily in a consistent pattern. Don’t feel guilty about waking your doctor — people who deliver babies for a living get plenty of 3 a.m. phone calls and are used to them.

You can cope with the intensity of the contractions using medication or natural pain-management techniques. 50), Kelly's birth story: Speedy birth in the family car (ep. Be sure to sign up for my pregnancy email list. On average, active labor lasts about 4 to 8 hours for first-time moms, so you'll probably be less than halfway through it by the time you see your caregiver. I won't be able to sleep."